2020 Scholarship Program

The 2020 Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Delta Section Scholarship Program is now open!

SPE Delta Section is pleased to offer $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors and $1,400 for undergraduate students who are pursuing studies for a career in the oil and gas industry. The scholarship program is open to graduating high school seniors within the SPE Delta jurisdiction (Southeastern Louisiana, see SPE Delta Section By Laws Article III under 'About Us') or undergraduate university students within the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, or Florida. Detailed applicant criteria and submission instructions are included in the application forms included below.  

Any scholarship awarded by the SPE Delta Section is contingent upon the recipient’s official registration at an accredited university or college and enrollment in a curriculum leading to a degree in STEM related field for the 2020-21 academic year (graduating after Summer 2020).  Please note that graduating undergraduates must provide proof of intent to attend graduate school for the 2020-21 academic school year to be considered for a scholarship. 

** Special extended deadline for current university students: Friday, April 24, 2020 at 8:00 PM CST  **

Like 2019, the application submission will ALL be online using the form below.  All sections must be completed before the deadline for the application to be considered. Incomplete application submissions will not be considered for scholarship so please review the new application form well before the deadline to get familiarized with what is needed. Please note that the new online applications require a Google/Gmail account (to upload supporting files).

 > 2020 Application for Graduating Secondary/High School Seniors - 2020-21 University Freshman ONLY
 2020 Application for Current University Undergraduates ONLY

If you have technical difficulties with the new form, do not have a Google/Gmail account, or if you have any questions about the application send an email to the SPE Delta Scholarship Chair, Jaime Villatoro, at SPEDeltaScholarship@gmail.com.